Friday, August 01, 2008

Learning to fly!

The third CS 855 class session in Second Life was such fun as students learned to fly!

Aside from reviewing SL basics, we discussed research in SL and evaluating alternatives for simulating the class project.

Who said SL is only for techies? An MGM 845 student installed the software and set up his voice, practiced a few camera and motor skills, then took off flying in his newly rezzed airship. Fast work!

By popular request, we will hold two one-hour class sessions on Tuesday, Aug. 5th at 6:00 PM Mountain, 8:00 PM Eastern and an encore session (same day, same agenda) at 7:00 PM Pacific, 8:00 PM Mountain. See you on Tuesday!

The figure depicts Lyr Lobo demonstrating Percival Ogg's Airship in Second Life.

No comments: